Saturday, March 13, 2010

Table of Contents: Three Junes

Author: Julia Glass
Publisher/Year: Pantheon, 2002
Synopsis: Three Junes is a vividly textured symphonic novel set on both sides of the Atlantic during three fateful summers in the lives of a Scottish family. In June of 1989, Paul McLeod, the recently widowed patriarch, becomes infatuated with a young American artist while traveling through Greece and is compelled to relive the secret sorrows of his marriage. Six years later, Paul's death reunites his sons at Tealing, their idyllic childhood home, where Fenno, the eldest, faces a choice that puts him at the center of his family's future. A lovable, slightly repressed gay man, Fenno leads the life of an aloof expatriate in the West Village, running a shop filled with books and birdwatching gear. He believes himself safe from all emotional entanglements--until a worldly neighbor presents him with an extraordinary gift and a seductive photographer makes him an unwitting subject. Each man draws Fenno into territories of the heart he has never braved before, leading him toward an almost unbearable loss that will reveal to him the nature of love.

What Others Have To Say
San Francisco Gate
"a warm, wise debut that just happens to focus on a newspaperman, a bookstore owner and, finally, a freelance book designer."

The Telegraph
"...a highly accomplished and sensitive novel..."

The Yale Review of Books
"Glass's critical success is the greatest literary mystery of 2002."

No comments:

Post a Comment