Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Book Mark: National Book Critics Awards

March 10 saw the awarding of the National Book Critics Awards. This year's winners:

Fiction: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
Biography: Cheever: A Life by Blake Bailey
Autobiography: Somewhere Towards The End by Diana Athill
Nonfiction: The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science by Richard Holmes
Poetry: Versed by Rae Armatrout
Criticism: Notes From No Man's Land by Eula Biss

In addition, a lifetime achievement award was presented to uber-prolific writer Joyce Carol Oates, and New York writer Joan Accocela received the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing.

Which book appeals to you as your next read?

No comments:

Post a Comment