Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Book Mark: 2010 Commonwealth Writers Prize

Winner of the overall Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book was Solo by Rana Dasgupta (Fourth Estate).

Winner of the 2010 Best First Book Award in the 2010 Commonwealth Writers Prize was Siddon Rock by Glenda Guest.

2010 Regional Winners

Adaobi Tricia Nwaubeni from Nigeria won Best First Book for I Do Not Come to You by Chance and Marie Heese from South Africa won Best Book for The Double Crown.

Caribbean and Canada
Shandi Mitchell from Canada won Best First Book for Under This Unbroken Sky and Michael Crummey from Canada won Best Book for Galore.

South Asia and Europe
Daniyal Mueenuddin from Pakistan won Best First Book for In Other Rooms, Other Wonders and Rana Dasgupta from the UK won Best Book for Solo.

South East Asia and Pacific
Glenda Guest from Australia won Best First Book for Siddon Rock and Albert Wendt from Samoa won Best Book for The Adventures of Vela.

No comments:

Post a Comment